About This Blog

This blog was originally started as a thread on the forum pages of an animal rescue site. Now it's here!

The articles you find in here are purely for entertainment (yours and mine) and (with one or two exceptions) are all tongue-in-cheek chronicles of the World (my bit, anyway) as I see it.
No disrespect is intended towards anyone unless I make a mistake and make it too obvious.

I hope you enjoy my offerings. Feedback and comments of any kind are welcome.

All about Me

Born:           Most definitely. In 1959, as it happens, which should have been
                   from then on called "The Golden Year".
Nationality:  British, Northumbrian (there is a difference)

History:       Schooled in Northumberland to an adequate,  but not life
                   changing standard. Picked on regularly for speaking, or at
                   any rate trying to, speak Queens English whilst all around me
                   spoke with that oh so distinctive Geordie dialect (the same one
                   that Cheryl Cole is so proud of).
                   I left school with mediocre qualifications and applied for
                   numerous jobs in the North-east, but failed miserably so, at
                   17 (on my birthday, in fact) I joined the Army and served for
                   10 years doing various soldiery-type things and drinking a lot.
                  At the tender age of 20, after demolishing a bar, throwing up in
                  a taxi, collapsing in a rose bed and getting into serious trouble for
                  breaching God knows how many military rules and regulations,
                  I quit drinking and have had nothing more than an occasional
                  shandy (lager/lemonade) since.
                  I left the Army in 1976 (on my birthday yet again) and began
                  working for Nixdorf Computers (now defunct) in Germany.
                  I had married over there and decided to stay. I worked for
                  a series of German companies until I decided to leave the
                  country in 2005 (after being divorced).
                  I now live and work in Cardiff, Wales and have re-married.
                  I have two not always co-operative step children, three dogs
                  and two cats.
                  My only hobby was golf, but I had to give it up as money is
                  required for such an activity. My new hobby ... if you can call
                  it that ... is blogging which infuriates the hell out of my wife
                  because it can be so time consuming.
                  These days I work in the care profession.  It can be a very
                  hard job, sometimes quite sad, but it is rewarding (after a